Sri Lanka vs Australia 5th ODI Highlights – 24 June 2022

From the visitor team, Australia PJ Cummins is the leading wicket-taker in the last four ODI matches. He took six wickets in three innings. He was the only bowler who performed so well from the Australian team. After PJ Cummins, MP Kuhnemann and GJ Maxwell took four wickets each. DN Wellalage also took six wickets but he took in four matches. PWH de Silva, JDF Vandersay, DM de Silva, and C Karunaratne all these Sri Lankan bowlers took five wickets each.

BKG Mendis is the leading runs scorer of the ODI series with 223 runs. P Nissanka scored 220 and KIC Asalanka 173. From Australian batting performance, DA Warner scored 145, GJ Maxwell 144, TM Head 120, and AJ Finch 120. So in both departments, the home team showed their skills far better than the visitors.

Sri Lanka vs Australia Highlights today, Friday 24-6-2022. 5th ODI (D/N), Australia tour of Sri Lanka from R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

Australia tour of Sri Lanka 2022 Complete Fixture

Form guide

(Last five completed matches; most recent first)
Sri Lanka WWWLW
Australia LLLWL

SL won the toss and chose to bat first.

On what has stood out from Sri Lanka’s performances, Dasun says: “Each and everyone took the responsibility. In different games, it’s been different players. It’s a very good quality to have in a team.”
On the Sri Lankan fans wearing yellow, Finch says: “It’s amazing, we’re very thankful for that. It’s been an amazing crowd, both here and in Kandy. To be back touring Sri Lanka has been amazing.”
Dasun Shanaka says it looks a decent wicket, and that he expects it to spin a bit in the evening. Aaron Finch says he would’ve batted first as well, and expects the pitch to get slower and lower as the game wears on. But he hopes to take the opportunity to improve their chasing in these conditions.

Sri Lanka team: Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Jeffrey Vandersay, Maheesh Theekshana
Australia team: David Warner, Aaron Finch (capt), Mitchell Marsh, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Carey (wk) Glen Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins, Matthew Kuhnemann, Josh Hazlewood

Head to Head In ODI’s: 102
Sri Lanka Won: 36
Australia Won: 62

Match Timings: 09:00 GMT | 14:30 Local
Umpires – Kumar Dharmasena, Ruchira Palliyaguruge
TV Umpires – Prageeth Rambukwella
Match Referee – Ranjan Madugalle
Reserve Umpire – Raveendra Wimalasiri
Match number – ODI no. 4418

Leave a Comment