Sri Lanka vs Australia 2nd T20I Highlights – 8 June 2022

Mathew Wade is Man of the Match: “There was a bit going, and we know Sri Lanka is a difficult team to face at home, especially when the crowd gets behind them. When they get the momentum they’re a difficult team to pull back. We just knew we needed to get through their two main spinners and tick off the runs. It certainly helped that guy get off to a flyer at the start, so the run rate wasn’t really an issue. And it was good that I was there at the end to see us through.”

Dasun Shanaka: “We were right there, but unfortunately we were not able to capitalise with the bat. Different days, different reasons [for the batting failures], today the top order fell early. The difference is also playing the conditions, and today in Khettarama we didn’t deal with the conditions well.”

Aaron Finch: “Our whole bowling unit did a fantastic job to restrict Sri Lanka on that wicket, one that probably deteriorated as the game went on. Mathew Wade also showed his experience taking us through. There was a little bit of panic from our end, but that can happen when the crowd gets involved. But the thing we had going for us was there was no run rate pressure, and it’s a wonderful crowd to play cricket in front of.”

Sri Lanka vs Australia Highlights today, Wednesday 8-6-2022. 2nd T20I (N), Australia tour of Sri Lanka from R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

Australia tour of Sri Lanka 2022 Complete Fixture

Australia have won the toss and will field.

Sri Lanka team: 1 Pathum Nissanka, 2 Danushka Gunathilaka, 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Kusal Mendis (wk), 5 Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, 11 Nuwan Thushara
Australia team: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 David Warner, 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Steven Smith, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Jhye Richardson, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Josh Hazlewood

Form guide

(Last five completed matches; most recent first)
Sri Lanka LLLLW
Australia WWLWW

Head to Head In T20I’s: 23
Sri Lanka Won: 9
Australia Won: 14

Match Timings: 13:30 GMT | 19:00 Local
Umpires – Kumar Dharmasena, Prageeth Rambukwella
TV Umpires – Lyndon Hannibal
Match Referee – Ranjan Madugalle
Reserve Umpire – Ruchira Palliyaguruge
Match number – T20I no. 1552

Leave a Comment

Ads Blocker Image Powered by Code Help Pro

Ads Blocker Detected!!!

We have detected that you are using extensions to block ads. Please support us by disabling these ads blocker.