Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 5 Highlights – 20 July 2022

The visitor’s team Pakistan got the historic victory today against the home team Sri Lanka by winning the first Test in Galle. Sri Lanka batted first and scored 222 runs in their first innings. Dinesh Chandimal was the top-runs scorer in that innings. He scored 76 runs off 115 balls. Shaheen Shah Afridi took four wickets. In reply, Pakistan scored 218 runs in their first innings. It was a captain’s innings knock, Babar Azam scored 119 runs. Prabath Jayasuriya took five wickets in that innings.

Sri Lanka faced a complete 100 overs in their second innings and scored 337 runs. The opener of their team Oshada Fernando scored 64 runs, Kusal Mendis 76 and Dinesh Chandimal 94 not out. Mohammad Nawaz dismissed five Sri Lanka batsmen in that innings. Yasir Shah took three wickets. The Pakistan team scored the highest successful run-chase at the Galle International Stadium today. The previous successful run-chase was 268 scored by New Zealand in 2019.

The opener of the Pakistan team 22 years old Abdullah Shafique batted till the victory the Pakistan team. He faced 408 deliveries and scored 160 runs not out. Imam-ul-Haq contributed 35 runs in 342 run-chase, Babar Azam (c) 55, Mohammad Rizwan † 40, and Mohammad Nawaz added 19 runs to his team’s scorecard. Prabath Jayasuriya took four wickets in the Pakistan team’s second innings.

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Highlights today, Wednesday 20-7-2022. 1st Test, Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka from Galle International Stadium.

Toss: Sri Lanka, elected to bat first.

Pakistan team: Abdullah, Imam, Azhar, Babar (capt), Rizwan (wk), Agha Nawaz, Yasir, Hasan, Shaheen, Naseem.
Sri Lanka team: Oshada, Dimuth (capt), Kusal, Mathews, Dhananjaya, Chandimal, Niroshan (wk), Ramesh, Maheesh, Prabath, Rajitha.

Form guide
(Last five completed matches; most recent first)
Pakistan LDDWW
Sri Lanka WLWDL

Match Timings: 04:30 GMT | 10:00 Local | 09:30 PKT
Umpires – Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus
TV Umpires – Rod Tucker
Match Referee – Jeff Crowe
Reserve Umpire – Raveendra Wimalasiri
Match number – Test no. 2472

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.