New Zealand vs South Africa Highlights – ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 7th Match

Sophie Devine:

“Firstly credit has to go to South Africa. They completely outplayed us today and were deserved winners so congrats to them. To be honest, it’s embarrassing. I can’t really say much else apart from that. We’ve trained well and put in all the work behind the scenes and then to come out and perform like that two nights in a row is simply not good enough for international cricket. I thought it was a competitive score but we always have the belief that we can chase down any score. I thought the wicket was slightly better than it was last game. So for us, again it was just disappointing. We’re gonna have to have some serious looks in the mirror and some pretty harsh discussions. We’ve got to let our emotions out. We’ve got a couple of days before our next game and we’ve got to let it out. We can’t hold onto it and then we have to move on. Tomorrow will be a really important day for us. I think we need to step away from the cricket field and the training field and have some time away because tonight’s performance and the other night’s were not good enough. It’s harsh and sport is bloody hard. But we have to bounce back. We have to find some positives in this and the young guns have been brilliant. There are some really good young players coming through.”

Sune Luus:

“First of all, thank you Paarl for coming out tonight. This was one of the biggest crowds we’ve ever had and it just made it more special. After our last game, we said we wanted to keep that intent, keep scoring runs and keep that run rate ticking, build partnerships, and get to a competitive total. The spinners did a brilliant job tonight but also the likes of Aya, Kappie, and Shabbie just supported them as well, and to finish the job off, I think it was a brilliant bowling performance from the whole team. [Four dismissals by Jafta] She did a brilliant job tonight. I think it’s so important for the keeper to keep the energy up. It’s good to see her in form and hopefully, she can just continue that. [On Chloe Tryon] What a legend. She missed out unfortunately Friday evening but to come back tonight and show the class that she’s made of, was absolutely brilliant.”

Player of the Match is Chloe Tryon:

“After the first game, we knew what needed to come. It was (do or die). But we just needed to go back to the basics. I just think we really wanted it really badly. We wanted it as a group and you could see the smiles on our faces. With the bat, I thought we were 15 or 20 runs short but we had a job with the ball and I think everyone did superbly with the ball. It’s nice to challenge myself and I’m just happy I got some key wickets today.”

NZ WMN vs SA WMN Highlights today, Monday 13-10-2023. 7th Match (N), Group 1, Boland Park, Paarl, ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

Toss: South Africa Women, elected to bat first.
New Zealand Women team: 1 Suzie Bates, 2 Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wk), 3 Georgia Plimmer, 4 Amelia Kerr, 5 Sophie Devine (capt.), 6 Maddy Green, 7 Hayley Jensen, 8 Lea Tahuhu, 9 Jess Kerr, 10 Eden Carson, 11 Fran Jonas.
South Africa Women team: 1 Laura Wolvaardt, 2 Tazmin Brits, 3 Marizanne Kapp, 4 Sune Luus (capt.), 5 Chloe Tryon, 6 Delmi Tucker, 7 Nadine de Klerk, 8 Sinalo Jacta (wk), 9 Shabnam Ismail, 10 Ayabonga Khaka, 11 Nonkululeko Mlaba.

Head to Head In T20I’s: 12
New Zealand Women Won: 10
South Africa Women Won: 2
New Zealand Women T20I Rankings: 3rd
South Africa Women T20I Rankings: 5th

Form guide
(last five completed T20I’s, most recent first)
New Zealand Women LWWWW
South Africa Women LWNRWW

Match Timings: 5:00 PM GMT | 7:00 PM Local
Umpires – Eloise Sheridan, N Janani
TV Umpire – Claire Polosak
Match Referee – Michell Pereira
Reserve Umpire – Nimali Perera
Match number – WT20I no. 1362

Leave a Comment