Lahore vs Islamabad Highlights 2023 – PSL 8 Match 16

Yesterday, Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafique went berserk and tore apart a lackluster Peshawar Zalmi bowling attack. Fakhar scored 96 while Shafique got 75 and later Sam Billings joined the party, in his first game of the season, and didn’t let the intensity go down by any means; he blasted a quickfire 47 to lift his side to a colossal total of 241/3. Babar Azam got a bail trimmer from Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Haris had no answer to a searing yorker from Qalandar’s captain. Shaheen Afridi was at his hostile best and returned figures of 5/40. Meanwhile, Rashid Khan was a little off-color and was hit for plenty by Saim Ayub and Tom-Kohler- Cadmore who were severe on him as he conceded 1/49 in his quota of overs which happens to be his worst spell in PSL history.

On the other hand, Islamabad United’s Azam Khan was batting on another plane in the 13th match against Quetta Gladiators. He played with exceptional valor and one shot that really caught my attention was his out-of-the-box slog sweep against Mohammad Hasnian in the penultimate over when the speedster sprayed one wide outside off stump, and it went traveling miles up into the air – monstrous 102m six on the roof. It was a shot of unobtrusive excellence and he timed it to perfection. He swatted Hasnain for three sixes in the 19th over in his staggering 97-run-knock that helped United post a formidable total of 221. Thus, both teams’ batting line-ups are firing on all cylinders but United will be facing a much stiffer challenge tonight against the likes of Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, and Zaman Khan.

Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United Highlights today, Monday 27-2-2023. 16th Match, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, Pakistan Super League 2023.

Lahore Qalandars have won the toss and opted to bat first.
Lahore Qalandars team: Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Abdullah Shafique, Sam Billings (wk), Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan.
Islamabad United team: Colin Munro, Rehmanullah Gurbaz, RVD Dussen, Shadab Khan (c), Azam Khan (wk), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tom Curran, Hassan Ali, Zeeshan Zameer, Abrar Ahmed.

Head to Head In T20’s: 15
Lahore Qalandars Won: 9
Islamabad United Won: 6

Form guide
(last five completed T20, most recent first)
Lahore Qalandars WWLWW
Islamabad United WWLWL

Match Timings: 2:00 PM GMT | 7:00 PM Local
Umpires – Faisal Afridi, Michael Gough
TV Umpire – Richard Illingworth
Match Referee – Roshan Mahanama
Reserve Umpire – Shozab Raza
Match number – PSL Season 8 – Match No. 16

Leave a Comment