India vs West Indies 2nd ODI Highlights – 24 July 2022

Axar Patel is the player of the match:

It’s very special, to get it in a crucial, series-winning cause is amazing. When I went out, I aimed for 10-11 an over. We thought it could be done as we have IPL experience. We wanted to be calm and keep cover of the rate. This was special as this is my first ODI since 2017, even my first fifty came here. Winning the series too makes me feel wonderful.

Post match presentation.

Nicholas Pooran:

We lost it in the last overs, Axar played well and we didn’t hold our nerves. We could not keep things down in the last five overs. We felt that it got easier to hit spinners. And we gambled with Akeal bowling against left handers. One wicket would have opened up things but Axar played brilliantly. Hope’s innings was impressive, it was exceptional as a batting group. We wanna win, we wanna win pretty bad in the next game. That’s all we are aiming for.

Shikhar Dhawan:

I feel it was a great a team performance. We made mistakes, we took the challenge and we had self-belief. I was also surprised. Hats off to our middle order. All the batters were amazing, Axar and Avesh, who got those boundaries, were amazing. Our domestic and IPL cricket keeps us ready as we play in front of big crowds. As Axar said, he’s done it multiple times in IPL. That brings a big stage. At the halfway stage, we felt we pulled them.

We got a couple of wickets, then Hope and Pooran took off. We thought we can do it if they can. We started slowly, I thought we can take off against left arm spin. I got out, Shreyas and Sanju played well. There was a silly mistake with the run out. But the way Axar played was amazing. Our support staff has been excellent. (On Hope) It was great when I scored a 100 on my 100th match. Congrats to Hope on doing it, he’s a quality player. He’s got a bright present and future with West Indies.

India vs West Indies 2nd ODI Highlights today, Sunday 24-7-2022. 2nd ODI, India tour of West Indies from Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Form guide

(Last five completed matches; most recent first)
West Indies LLLLL

Pooran won the toss and will bat first.

Shikhar Dhawan: The pitch looks good, it started to come on nicely until the spin comes in. We also wanted to win after how it played the last game. We gave a few runs in the field, 5-10% improvement in the bowling is also needed. That’s what we discussed. Siraj’s yorkers, Prasidh handling the pressure was impressive. Prasidh is out, Avesh will debut.
Nicholas Pooran: This is the same wicket from the last time, 250 should be a challenging score. We need to hang in there, build partnerships and execute. We need to do the same thing over and over. Motie is out and Hayden is in. (On Hope) Doesn’t matter if he scores on not because if he doesn’t someone else will. Hope he will enjoy it.

India team: 1 Shikhar Dhawan (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Shreyas Iyer, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Sanju Samson (wk), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Mohammed Siraj, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Avesh Khan.
West Indies team: 1 Shai Hope (wk), 2 Kyle Mayers, 3 Shamarh Brooks, 4 Brandon King, 5 Nicholas Pooran (capt), 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Romario Shepherd, 8 Akeal Hosein, 9 Hayden Walsh, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Jayden Seales.

Head to Head In ODI’s: 137
India Won: 68
West Indies Won: 63

Match Timings: 13:30 GMT | 09:30 Local
Umpires – Joel Wilson, Gregory Brathwaite
TV Umpires – Nigel Duguid
Match Referee – Richie Richardson
Reserve Umpire – Leslie Reifer
Match number – ODI no. 4438

Leave a Comment