Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 1 Highlights – 22 March 2024

Najmul Hossain Shanto the captain of the home team Bangladesh chose to bowl first after winning the toss. The visitors team Sri Lanka scored 280 runs in their first innings. The opener of their team Nishan Madushka scored just two runs and out. Dimuth Karunaratne got a start but failed to stay long on the pitch. Angelo Mathews also got out early, Dinesh Chandimal also was not able to impress today. From nowhere Dhananjaya de Silva (c) and Kamindu Mendis both batted magnificently and reached to a respectable total. Dhananjaya de Silva scored 102 runs off 131 balls he faced and Kamindu Mendis faced 127 deliveries and posted his 102 runs.

Khaled Ahmed from the Bangladesh side, he dismissed three Sri Lankan batsmen as same as Nahid Rana who also took three wickets. Shoriful Islam and Taijul Islam both took one wicket each. The home team Bangladesh faced 10 overs today and lost three wickets with 32 runs on the board. Mahmudul Hasan Joy scored 9 runs not out. Zakir Hasan contributed 9 runs, Najmul Hossain Shanto (c) added 5 runs and Mominul Haque scored 5 runs. Vishwa Fernando took two wickets and Kasun Rajitha took one wicket till stumps day 1.

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Highlights today. Friday 22-3-2024. 1st Test, Sri Lanka tour of Bangladesh 2024 from Sylhet International Cricket Stadium.

BD won the toss and bowl first.

Bangladesh team: 1 Mahmudul Hasan Joy, 2 Zakir Hasan, 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto (capt), 4 Mominul Haque, 5 Shahadat Hossain, 6 Litton Das (wk), 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Taijul Islam, 9 Khaled Ahmed, 10 Nahid Rana, 11 Shoriful Islam
Sri Lanka team: 1 Nishan Madushka, 2 Dimuth Karunaratne, 3 Kusal Mendis (wk), 4 Angelo Mathews, 5 Dinesh Chandimal, 6 Dhananjaya de Silva (capt), 7 Kamindu Mendis, 8 Prabath Jayasuriya, 9 Vishwa Fernando, 10 Kasun Rajitha, 11 Lahiru Kumara

Head to Head In Test’s: 24
Bangladesh Won: 1
Sri Lanka Won: 18
Bangladesh Test Rankings: 9th
Sri Lanka Test Rankings: 8th

Form guide
(last five completed Tests, most recent first)
Bangladesh LWWWL
Sri Lanka WLLWW

Match Timings: 04:00 AM GMT | 10:00 AM Local
Umpires – Chris Gaffaney, Richard Illingworth
TV Umpire – Rod Tucker
Match Referee – Jeff Crowe
Reserve Umpire – Masudur Rahman
Match number – Test no. 2536

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.