Australia vs Sri Lanka 5th T20I Highlights – Feb 20, 2022

Kusal Mendis is the player of the match: “Today was a very good game. Dasun Shanaka batted really well. Think we have played well every game.”

Glenn Maxwell is the player of the series: “It was a really good performance, everyone chipped in. We saw the emergence of Josh Inglis and how spinners did the job they have for a long period of time. We were able to use a bunch of players in different situations.”

Dasun Shanaka: “The boys played really well throughout the series, made a statement that when we come for the World Cup we’ll be prepared. [Kusal] has been an outstanding player throughout. We should keep on giving opportunities to the right players. I’d like to thank all the Sri Lankans who supported us. See you soon in the World Cup.

Aaron Finch: “We were probably outplayed in the powerplay with bat and ball. That was the difference. Probably not quite enough in the end. Think we’ve got a lot of answers. Been a fantastic series for players individually. Sri Lanka is a very dangerous side and to win five games is tough in a fickle format. The flexibility of Josh Inglis was fantastic, showed his game is well and truly suited to international, and the depth in our bowling continues to grow. The way Ash Agar came into the side, he’s bowled the house down.”

Australia vs Sri Lanka 5th T20I Highlights today, Sunday 20-2-2022 – 5th T20I (N), Sri Lanka tour of Australia from Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC Rankings Test, ODI & T20I

Australia win the toss and will bat.

Australia are unchanged, but Aaron Finch returns to the top of the order with Ashton Agar slipping down. “We are just trying to find out a bit more information every time.”
Sri Lanka have handed debuts to Mishara and Liyanage. Dinesh Chandimal misses out having been recalled at the start of the series.

Australia team: 1 Aaron Finch (capt), 2 Ben McDermott, 3 Josh Inglis, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Matthew Wade (wk), 7 Daniel Sams, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Jhye Richardson, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Adam Zampa.
Sri Lanka team: 1 Kamil Mishara, 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Janith Liyanage (wk), 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Dushmantha Chameera, 9 Praveen Jayawickrama, 10 Maheesh Theekshana, 11 Lahiru Kumara.

Match Timings: 06:10 GMT | 17:10 Local
Umpires – Donovan Koch, Sam Nogajski
TV Umpires – Shawn Craig
Match Referee – David Boon
Reserve Umpire – Rod Tucker
Match number – T20I no. 1478

Leave a Comment