Australia vs Afghanistan T20 World Cup Highlights – 4 Nov 2022

Pitch and weather: Rain affected India’s clash with Bangladesh on Wednesday night but there is no forecast for Friday. It should be a pleasant 20-degree day but it may cool off in the evening. It will likely be a fresh pitch for the double-header, but New Zealand faces Ireland beforehand so there potentially will be 40 overs of wear on it. However, as with most Adelaide strips, it should be a good batting surface.

Australia vs Afghanistan Highlights today. 38th Match, Group 1 (N), Adelaide Oval, Friday 4-11-2022, ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022.

Toss: Afghanistan chose to field.

“We will try our best [to upset the party],” Nabi says. “The wicket is a little low. Rashid Khan is right to go to his home ground. Wasn’t a good tournament for us but today is a chance to play with a good side and hopefully we perform well.”
Wade says Australia are “chasing a bit of net run rate but still trying to win the game” and that they would have chosen to chase. Three changes for Australia: Finch and David are ruled out, and Starc is left out. Green, Smith, and Richardson are in. Afghanistan’s changes: Omarzai and Fareed are out, and Rasooli and Naveen are in.

Australia team: 1 David Warner, 2 Cameron Green, 3 Mitch Marsh, 4 Steve Smith, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Matthew Wade (capt/wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood
Afghanistan team: 1 Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), 2 Usman Ghani, 3 Ibrahim Zadran, 4 Gulbadin Naib, 5 Darwish Rasooli, 6 Najibullah Zadran, 7 Mohammad Nabi (capt), 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Mujeeb Ur Rahman, 10 Naveen-ul-Haq, 11 Fazal Farooqi

Head to Head In T20I’s: 0
Australia Won: 0
Afghanistan Won: 0
Australia T20I Rankings: 6th
Afghanistan T20I Rankings: 10th

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Points Table

Form guide

(last five completed T20I’s, most recent first)
Australia WWLLL
Afghanistan LLLLL

Match Timings: 08:00 AM GMT | 06:30 PM Local
Umpires – Aleem Dar, Langton Rusere
TV Umpire – Adrian Holdstock
Match Referee – Ranjan Madugalle
Reserve Umpire – Kumar Dharmasena
Match number – T20I no. 1864

Leave a Comment