Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 1st Test Day 1 Highlights Mar 7, 2017

Watch SL v BD highlights today – first test day one from Galle International Stadium (Sri Lanka) Tuesday 7th March 2017. The last test match in Galle International Stadium had been played between Australia and Sri Lanka on Aug 4-6, 2016. In that match Sri Lanka won by 229 runs which means Sri Lanka’s last match on this venue was too good for them. The other side Bangladesh is also in Asia so they also can bat or bowl so good on Asian pitches. It looks like it could be a very tough competition between these two teams.

Here is one more very important thing that is the highest total of test match had been scored by Bangladesh on this venue would you believe it? That match was played on 8 Mar 2013. Sri Lanka batted first in that match and scored 570 runs in 135 overs with four wickets down. Bangladesh faced 196 overs and scored 638. Both teams scored that in their first innings which indicates that this pitch is full of runs. So if batting first team will not score good runs on this pitch then they could be in trouble.

From Sri Lanka’s recent squad LD Chandimal is the most runs scorer of this ground. He played seven matches and scored 632 runs in 12 innings with the highest 162 not out. FDM Karunaratne scored 406 runs in eleven innings. HMRKB Herath is the second most wicket-taker of this venue after M Muralitharan. Who took 111 wickets in 28 innings and HMRKB Herath took 84, MDK Perera bowled eight innings and he took 29 wickets.

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat.

Sri Lanka team
FDM Karunaratne, WU Tharanga, BKG Mendis, LD Chandimal, N Dickwella†, DAS Gunaratne, MDK Perera, HMRKB Herath*, RAS Lakmal, CBRLS Kumara, PADLR Sandakan.

Bangladesh team
Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim*, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das†, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Subashis Roy.


Sri Lanka 321/4 88 overs

Match Timings: 10:00 local time (04:30 GMT)

Bangladesh tour of Sri Lanka, 1st Test Highlights
Test no. 2252 | 2016/17 season
Played at Galle International Stadium
07,08,09,10,11 March 2017 (5-day match)
Umpires – Aleem Dar and M Erasmus
TV umpire – S Ravi
Match referee – AJ Pycroft
Reserve umpire – RR Wimalasiri

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.