South Africa vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test Day 2 Highlights – Feb 22, 2019

2nd Test, Sri Lanka tour of South Africa 2019. Watch SL v SA HD video cricket highlights today – Second test day two from St George’s Park, Port Elizabeth (South Africa) Friday, 22nd February 2019.

The home team South Africa scored 222 runs in their first innings with facing 61.2 overs. D Elgar scored just 6 runs and out. HM Amla has gone with duck as same as T Bavuma. South Africa was three down at 15 in 6.3 overs. After that, the captain of the team F du Plessis and AK Markram scored some runs and release some pressure. When F du Plessis’s wicket fallen then scored was 74.

AK Markram scored 60 runs off 116 balls and out. It was Q de Kock † who took charge and smashed all Sri Lanka bowlers all around the park. He scored 86 runs off 87 deliveries and completed his innings with the help of 12 boundaries. K Rabada contributed 22 runs in the last of the home team innings.

MVT Fernando and CAK Rajitha took three wickets each of them. DM de Silva took two wickets and FDM Karunaratne dismissed one SA batsmen. T Bavuma was running out by CAK Rajitha. In reply, the visitor team Sri Lanka scored 154 runs in their first innings in 37.4 overs. and they batted with the run-rate of 4.08. The 8th number batsmen N Dickwella † was the top runs scorer with 42 runs. HDRL Thirimanne scored 29, HDRL Thirimanne 20, DM de Silva 19, FDM Karunaratne (c) 17 and BKG Mendis scored 16 runs. K Rabada took four wickets, D Olivier took three. PWA Mulder and KA Maharaj these two took one each of them.

Today’s play was a nightmare for the home team. because they batted not good enough and all out with 128 runs on the board in their second innings in 44.3 overs. AK Markram scored 18 runs and out, D Elgar 2, HM Amla 32, T Bavuma 6, F du Plessis (c) 50 not out, Q de Kock † 1, PWA Mulder 5, KA Maharaj 6, K Rabada has gone with duck, DW Steyn 0 and D Olivier scored 6 runs. RAS Lakmal took four wickets, DM de Silva took three, CAK Rajitha 2 and MVT Fernando took the remaining one wicket. After stumps, day two Sri Lanka require another 137 runs with 8 wickets remaining.

South Africa win the toss and opt to bat first.

South Africa team
Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wk), Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Sri Lanka team
Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dhananjaya de Silva, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Embuldeniya, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando.

Form guide
South Africa: LWWWL (last five Tests, most recent first)
Sri Lanka: WLLLD

Match Timings: 08:00 GMT | 10:00 Local
Umpires – Aleem Dar, Ian Gould
TV Umpires – Richard Kettleborough
Match Referee – Sir Richie Richardson
Reserve Umpire – Shaun George
Match number – Test no. 2348

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.