South Africa vs England 5th ODI Highlights 14 Feb 2016

The last match of SA v Eng was a historic match because of so many thrillers and unbelievable performances of last order batsmen from both sides. England was at 87/1 then that was looking England took the victory then suddenly five more dismissals at 108/6 then look like SA gain the victory but with JE Root 109 runs took England again too far from a loss.

During South African batting 210 runs with fall of eight wickets South African batsmen had not stopped the hitting and reached the level with fall of nine wickets and in the end, South Africa won by 1 wicket (with 16 balls remaining). So the England team does many mistakes in fielding because of pressure and a little bit of happiness of victory but SA managed well enough in the end with a very brave performance and some good luck.

Now South Africa leveled the series with 2-2 and today is the very big day for both teams because today is the final match from the ODI series and it’s time to play good and take the victory of the series for both teams. After finding a winning XI for the second time, South Africa may be tempted to stick with it but the problems in the middle order could see changes.


The decider will be played on a pitch where scores have been low over the last couple of games. Newlands has only hosted two ODIs since 2009 and South Africa lost them both. They were bowled out for 220 against India in January 2011 and for 195, chasing 219, against Pakistan in November 2013. A slow, perhaps sticky surface awaits, where pace off the ball could be important. Cooler temperatures are sweeping through the west coast with Sunday forecast at just 24 degrees and chances of morning drizzle.

South Africa team 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 JP Duminy/David Miller, 6 Farhaan Behardien, 7 David Wiese, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Kyle Abbott, 11 Imran Tahir

England team 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Stuart Broad/David Willey, 11 Reece Topley

Match scheduled to begin at 10:00 local time (08:00 GMT)

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.