New Zealand vs West Indies 1st T20I Highlights – 10 August 2022

Nicholas Pooran:

“We were happy to chase 175 but we conceded a few more. We were excellent in the last five, just a little extra at the end. (Spin challenging?) Santner bowled well. It was a slower wicket, but it happens. But we got close, we are happy with that. We are finding that template. Guys are playing situations a bit smarter. Winning and losing are contagious and we are losing at the moment. (Too many top-order wickets) Roles are clear, but they’ll learn from them. But I will not pull up any batsman. We will get better. Losing hurts us but we are trying our best, couple of things needed to go in our favor.

Kane Williamson:

(Pleased?) Nice to get the win. The performance and what went into it was more pleasing. We know how dynamic and gifted West Indies players are. We know that’s what they are going to bring and for us, it was nice to stick to our plan. Having said that, some things to improve. (Personal batting effort) It is just about playing roles and being clear about that. There are a number of really valuable contributions today, even the 17s of 10 balls that pushes the innings along. (Worried at the end?) Power is always there in West Indies, we know they will keep coming hard and for us, it is about sticking to our plans.

Mitchell Santner is the Player of the Match:

“There was a bit of spin that was surprising. The lengths are key against these guys, they can hit you pretty far. The back of a length worked well. (CPL experience helped?) I’ve played for Trinidad, and you find out what lengths work against these guys. Surprised to see it spinning. Throughout our bowling innings, we were able to take wickets, very handy since they bat so deep. We saw their fireworks even though they were seven down. (Williamson’s reintroduction) It is massive. He is an outstanding player and captain. The way he controlled the innings was outstanding, along with Neesham who finished it off. We’ve had a few big guys come back, which is nice.”

New Zealand vs West Indies 1st T20I Highlights today, Wednesday 10-8-2022. 1st T20I, New Zealand tour of West Indies from Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica.

West Indies chose to bowl first.

Nicholas Pooran: “New conditions, different from Miami. This place offers a lot for seamers – want to capitalize on that. Two-day turnaround is a challenge, couple of guys have niggles, but we have had good conversations. (Areas of concern in T20Is) We spoke about partnerships, powerplay bowling, winning moments, and handling pressure well. Playing one spinner today, resting a couple of others.”
Kane Williamson: “(Break from cricket) Important to get a balance. Nice to have some time at home and be back. There are a few changes from the last match from the Netherlands.”

New Zealand team: Conway, Guptill, Williamson, Phillips, Mitchell, Neesham, Santner, Sodhi, Southee, Ferguson, Boult.
West Indies team: Brooks, Mayers, Pooran, Powell, Thomas, Hetmyer, Holder, Smith, Shepherd, Walsh, McCoy.

Head to Head In T20I’s: 16
New Zealand Won: 9
West Indies Won: 5

Match Timings: 18:30 GMT | 13:30 Local
Umpires – Nigel Duguid, Patrick Gustard
TV Umpire – Gregory Brathwaite
Match Referee – Richie Richardson
Reserve Umpire – Leslie Reifer
Match number – T20I no. 1728

Leave a Comment