India vs Zimbabwe 1st ODI Highlights – 18 Aug 2022

Regis Chakabva:

“The Indian bowlers bowled really well and put pressure on us. I thought we started well but lost our way from the 18-over mark. It was good to see Richie [Ngarava] and Brad [Evans] give a good partnership at the back end. They were quite good and we needed one or two big partnerships. We didn’t have enough. Our bowlers tried to come hard at them but Shikhar and Gill batted really well and took us out of the game.”

KL Rahul:

“As good as it can be, I am on the field and I am happy. We do play a lot of cricket, injuries are going to be a part of it. Being away from the game is hard. Rehab and everything every day gets boring. We’d rather be playing 365 days than be with the physio. Picking up wickets is crucial. There was a swing and seam movement as well. But it was good to see them put the ball in the right areas and be disciplined. For a few of us, it is great to be back in the Indian dressing room.”

Shikhar Dhawan:

“I am enjoying batting with the youngster [Gill] and I feel like a youngster too. I enjoyed the consistency from West Indies. I knew that once I was set, I would go after the bowlers. I wanted to rotate the strike as well and then was to accelerate. My rhythm with Gill has settled nicely. The way he bats and times the ball is lovely to watch. He has shown consistency in converting fifties into bigger fifties. I enjoy [catching at slip] and it has become easy with experience. Our bowling unit did well and it was nice to see Deepak Chahar come back from injury and pick up three wickets. I am sure he would be feeling confident as well.”

Deepak Chahar, player of the match:

“The landing area was a little hard and my nails were not going in and were slippy. When you are playing an international game after six and a half months, you are always nervous. Before coming here I played four-five practice games. But playing for the country, you wanted to do well and the mind and the body was not working together. That ball I wanted to bowl a bouncer and the spikes didn’t go through and I slipped.”

India vs Zimbabwe 1st ODI Highlights today, Thursday 18-8-2022. 1st ODI, India tour of Zimbabwe from Harare Sports Club.

Toss: India, elected to field first.

“We would have loved to bowl first,” says Chakabva and talks about negotiating the first hour being key. Marumani will open with Kaia he confirms and adds that Ngarava is in the side.
“Little bit of moisture and we don’t know what to expect since it is an early start,” says Rahul.

India team: KL Rahul (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj
Zimbabwe team: Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaia, Sean Williams, Wessely Madhevere, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva (capt & wk), Ryan Burl, Luke Jongwe, Bradley Evans, Victor Nyauchi, Richard Ngarava

Head to Head In ODI’s: 63
India Won: 51
Zimbabwe Won: 10

Match Timings: 07:15 GMT | 09:15 Local
Umpires – Adrian Holdstock, Langton Rusere
TV Umpire – Iknow Chabi
Match Referee – Andy Pycroft
Reserve Umpire – Christopher Phiri
Match number – ODI no. 4450

Leave a Comment