India vs Sri Lanka 1st Test Day 4 Highlights – Nov 19, 2017

Ind v SL highlights today – The first test day four from Eden Gardens, Kolkata (India) Sunday 19th November 2017. Sri Lanka scored 294 runs in their first innings in 83.4 overs and took the lead of 122 runs. The opener of the Sri Lankan team S Samarawickrama scored 23 runs off 22 deliveries and out when it was 6.4 nicks off! That’s the problem with his style of play on this type of wicket. The back foot punch to a shortish delivery that seams just enough to pass the middle and take the edge. Saha won’t be fluffing those 34/2. FDM Karunaratne had not survived for so long and gone with scoring just eight runs.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to field.

After two wickets down, Sri Lankan next batsmen took charge and played beautiful innings. HDRL Thirimanne scored 51 runs off 94 balls and out, he completed his innings with the help of eight 4s. When his wicket dismissed then it was 36.2 taken low to the left of second slip and Kohli, after taking the catch, vents by chucking the ball at the turf. Beautiful bowling from Umesh, running in hard, digging the ball in short and getting it to straighten. The angle from around the wicket is to make sure the left-hander feels like he needs to play at these. Works a trick 133/3.

AD Mathews scored 52 runs off 94 balls with eight 4s and out, LD Chandimal (c) contributed 28 runs, N Dickwella † scored 38, MD Shanaka has gone with duck, MDK Perera 5, RAS Lakmal 16 and in the end HMRKB Herath smashed 67 runs which gave Sri Lankan lot of confidence. B Kumar took four wickets in 27 overs with 88 runs, Mohammed Shami took also four wickets in 26.3 overs with 100 runs, UT Yadav bowled 20 overs and dismissed two Sri Lankan batsmen with leaking 79 runs. Now Sri Lanka have the opportunity to defeat India in their first test.

India team/playing XI
KL Rahul, S Dhawan, CA Pujara, V Kohli (c), AM Rahane, RA Jadeja, WP Saha †, R Ashwin, B Kumar, Mohammed Shami, UT Yadav.

Sri Lanka team/playing XI
FDM Karunaratne, S Samarawickrama, MD Shanaka, LD Chandimal (c), AD Mathews, N Dickwella †, HDRL Thirimanne, MDK Perera, HMRKB Herath, RAS Lakmal, PLS Gamage.

Match Timings: 09:30 local (04:00 GMT)

Sri Lanka tour of India Ist Test Highlights

Umpires – Richard Kettleborough, Nigel Llong
TV Umpires – Joel Wilson
Match Referee – David Boon
Reserve Umpire – Anil Chaudhary
Match number – Test no. 2281