India vs South Africa 1st Test Day 2 Highlights – Jan 6, 2018

SA v Ind highlights today – First freedom test day two from Newlands, Cape Town (South Africa) Saturday 6th January 2018. After winning the toss South African captain F du Plessis decided to bat first. Many people said that it was a bad call to bat first. Because according to the conditions pitch should help the fast bowlers as it does yesterday. So South Africa batted first and all out in 73.1 overs with 286 runs on the board.

The opener of the team D Elgar who is in very good form, gone with duck, when his wicket dismissed then it was 0.3 and India strike in the first over! A perfect comeback from Bhuvneshwar. After two leg-side deliveries, he finds the one that seams away. Pitches on middle and leg, and because of that line, Elgar is caught into playing. Elgar pokes at the ball. The length is good too, not seaming away too much to beat the outside edge or seaming too less to find the outside half. A thin outside edge is easily taken by Saha. The ideal start for India. 0/1.

AK Markram scored just five runs and gone, HM Amla had not survived for so long this time he scored just three runs and out when it was 4.5 135 kph, Amla edges off and South Africa are tottering! Good length outside off, it moves away late, but Amla rather inexplicably jabs at it. With that away seam movement, that shot is always fraught with risk, a thick outside edge is taken by the keeper. It’s a loose shot, and SA is 12 for 3 within the first 22 minutes of the first Test. 12/3.

South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first.

After three wickets down AB de Villiers and the captain himself comes to the crease and smashed Indian bowlers all around the park. AB de Villiers scored 65 runs off 84 deliveries and out when it was 32.6 goes through him! 140 kph, massive wicket. Bumrah’s maiden Test wicket is de Villiers. Full delivery outside off, de Villiers drives but that seam movement again, takes the inside edge and hits off stump. Throws his head back as he heard the stumps disturbed. 126/4. He smashed eleven 4s in his innings.

F du Plessis scored 62 runs off 104 balls and out, he completed his innings with the help of twelve boundaries. When his wicket dismissed then it was 35.5 out this time, no doubt. Du Plessis has nicked off two balls later and SA is in big trouble! Good length outside off keeps a tad low too. Du Plessis cuts, but is a tad late on the shot. Toe-end to the keeper. Kohli sends off du Plessis with some ecstatic celebrations 142/5.

Q de Kock † scored 43 runs, VD Philander 23, KA Maharaj contributed 35 runs, K Rabada 26 and DW Steyn 16. B Kumar took four wickets in 19 overs with 87 runs, R Ashwin took two wickets in 7.1 overs with 21 runs and rest of the Indian bowlers took one wicket each of them. India faced eleven overs and scored 28 runs with three wickets down, M Vijay 1, S Dhawan 16 and V Kohli (c) 5. CA Pujara and RG Sharma will start their innings from today.

India team/playing XI
Shikhar Dhawan, M Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah.

South Africa team/playing XI
Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Kagiso Rabada.

Match Timings: 10.30 start, Lunch 12.30-13.10, Tea 15.10-15.30, Close 17.30

India tour of South Africa 1st Test Highlights

Umpires – Michael Gough, Richard Kettleborough
TV Umpires – Paul Reiffel
Match Referee – Chris Broad
Reserve Umpire – Bongani Jele
Match number – Test no. 2292