India v West Indies 2nd T20 Preview – Dec 8, 2019

Only one t20I cricket match has been played on the Greenfield International Stadium. It was played between India and New Zealand on November of 7th 2017. India batted first in that match and scored 67/5 in 8 overs and New Zealand scored 61/6 in 8 overs. This scorecard indicates that this pitch is not batting friendly.

India team: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Rishabh Pant (wk), 5 Shreyas Iyer, 6 Shivam Dube, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Washington Sundar, 9 Deepak Chahar, 10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal.

West Indies team: 1 Lendl Simmons, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Brandon King, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Khary Pierre, 9 Kesrick Williams, 10 Sheldon Cottrell, 11 Hayden Walsh.

First match Report

In the first t20i cricket match India won the toss and their team captain Virat Kohli decided to bowl first. West Indies scored 207 runs in 20 overs. The opener of the team LMP Simmons faced four balls and scored just 2 and out. E Lewis smashed four 6s and three boundaries in his beautiful innings. He scored 40 runs off 17 balls, that was the exact start west indies needed after early wicket down.

BA King contributed 31 runs and SO Hetmyer scored 56 runs off 41 deliveries. He smashed four maximums and two 4s in his innings. KA Pollard (c) scored 34 runs off 19 balls, JO Holder 24 off 9 and D Ramdin † added 11 runs to his team scoreboard. YS Chahal took two wickets, RA Jadeja, DL Chahar and Washington Sundar all three of them took one wicket each.

The opener of the team RG Sharma faced 10 balls and scored 8 runs and out. KL Rahul scored 62 runs off 40 balls. He smashed four 6s and five boundaries in his innings. RR Pant † played with the strike-rate of 200 and he faced nine balls. SS Iyer scored 4 off 6.

So it was a captains knock once again. Virat Kohli was on 21 off 21 and after that, he started to accelerate and smashed all Windies bowlers all around the park. He smashed six 6s and six boundaries in his innings and he goes not out. K Pierre took two wickets, SS Cottrell and KA Pollard both took one wicket each.