Afghanistan vs Ireland 2nd T20 Highlights – Feb 23, 2019

2nd T20I, Ireland tour of India 2019. Watch IRE v AFG HD video cricket highlights today – Second twenty/20 from Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Dehradun (India) Saturday, 23rd February 2019. In the first match, Ireland batted first after winning the toss and scored 132/6 in 20 overs. In reply, Afghanistan was five down at 50 but they did get managed to the target. PR Stirling (c) scored 23 runs in that match, SR Thompson 18, GH Dockrell 34 and SW Poynter † 31. From the Afghanistan team, Mohammad Nabi scored 49 and Najibullah Zadran 40.

The highest opening partnership in T20 was 223 scored by the Australian team batsmen AJ Finch (c) and DJM Short. The made this record in Harare Sports Club against the home team Zimbabwe on July 3, 2018. Today Afghanistan batsmen broke that record against Ireland in India. Their partnership went to 236 in 17.3 overs. Usman Ghani scored 73 runs off 48 balls. He smashed seven boundaries and three maximums. When his wicket dismissed then it was (17.3 finally a breakthrough for Ireland. Short of a length on the stumps, Ghani backs away and looks to hit it over long-on, doesn’t middle it, and Little takes a low tumbling catch coming in from long-on 236/1).

Afghanistan broke the record of the highest t20I total by a team. The previous record was 263/3 scored by Australia against the home team Sri Lanka on September 6, 2016, at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. Afghanistan scored 278 runs in 20 overs with three wickets down. Hazratullah Zazai was the man who scored 162 runs off 62 deliveries and gone not out. He smashed eleven boundaries and sixteen 6s in his beautiful innings.

Afghanistan have won the toss and chose to bat.

Afghanistan team
Asghar Afghan (c), Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Nabi, Shafiqullah †, Najibullah Zadran, Samiullah Shinwari, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karim Janat, Usman Ghani, Fareed Ahmad.
Ireland team
Paul Stirling (capt), Kevin O’Brien, Andrew Balbirnie, Shane Getkate, Simi Singh, Stuart Poynter (wk), George Dockrell, Josh Little, Boyd Rankin, Peter Chase, Lorcan Tucker.

Match Timings: 18.30 start, First Session 18.30-19.55, Interval 19.55-20.15, Second Session 20.15- 21.40
Umpires – Bismillah Jan Shinwari, Ahmed Shah Durrani
TV Umpires – Ahmed Shah Pakteen
Match Referee – Javagal Srinath
Reserve Umpire – Izatullah Safi
Match number – T20I no. 746

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.